Ooredoo Managing Director Crowns Winners of First Ever F1 Ooredoo Qatar Grand Prix | Ooredoo corporate

Ooredoo Managing Director Crowns Winners of First Ever F1 Ooredoo Qatar Grand Prix

21 November 2021 . Qatar

Aziz Aluthman Fakhroo, Ooredoo Group's Managing Director has handed the winners' trophy at the first-ever F1 Ooredoo Qatar Grand Prix today.

Lewis Hamilton took top spot in the inaugural race, held from 19-21 November 2021 at Losail International Circuit in Doha. The race was contested by the world’s leading F1 racing drivers including Max Verstappen in second place and Fernando Alonso in third place.

The race was the first of an 11-race hosting deal between the Qatar Motor and Motorcycle Federation (QMMF) and Formula 1, with Ooredoo Group as title sponsor. This year’s race made use of Qatar’s existing motor racing facilities, which have hosted several motorsport events – including MotoGP – since 2004.

Aziz Aluthman Fakhroo said: “As a racing enthusiast and a big F1 fan, it gave me immense pride to present one of the winners' trophies of the first ever F1 Ooredoo Qatar Grand Prix. Indeed, we are incredibly proud to be contributing to the cementing of Qatar’s position as a global sporting hub. Our country was well-prepared to host such an event, and yet again proved its suitability as a trusted provider of world-class events. That the Ooredoo name was showcased at such a major global event was an honour, and I extend my thanks to Formula 1 and QMMF for placing their trust in us. Congratulations and well done to Lewis Hamilton, and to all the drivers for their stellar performance.”


About Ooredoo

Ooredoo is an international communications company operating across the Middle East, North Africa and Southeast Asia. Serving consumers and businesses in 10 countries, Ooredoo delivers the leading data experience through a broad range of content and services via its advanced, data-centric mobile and fixed networks.

Ooredoo generated revenues of QAR 29 billion as of 31 December 2020. Its shares are listed on the Qatar Stock Exchange and the Abu Dhabi Securities Exchange.